VOICES IN MY HEAD

If any of you are fiction writers you might understand when I mention how loud and aggressive characters voices can sound in your mind. Lately, a couple of mine have been sounding off with great velocity and regularity about the way I’m handling their stories.

Those of you who have read Thicker Than Water, my first novel in the Brands Crossing Series, may remember these two: Claire Kincaid and Belle Kincaid.

Kate O’Donnell is the protagonist and deserves to be the focus in TTW. Right? Well, her cousin Claire disagrees and frequently upstages the less-dramatic Kate. In an effort to leash and muzzle the tempetuous Claire, I promised the next book would be hers if she’d just dial it down a bit. She took the offer and has never stopped nagging me to hurry up and finish that book, Whatever Goes Around, so she can have her 15 minutes (more if possible) of fame. Granted, the book is a year past the projected publishing date, but what started out as a simple story became unbelievably complicated. Claire isn’t buying that or my explanation that I’m creating the best possible book to showcase her story. “Just get it done,” she says.

Then there is Belle, the matriarch of the Kincaid family whose husband Will died in TTW. Although she will always miss her husband, Belle has worked through most of the steps of grief and is ready to express herself in a series of cozy mysteries where she is the amateur detective. She has a lot of great ideas and is eager to share them on a regular basis with a reminder to “write this down”.

Obviously Claire resents any attention on any but her story, so the discussions are frequently loud and emotionally charged.

I don’t mean to complain. As disturbing as the voices may be, they keep my eyes on the screen and my fingers on the keyboard. And, to ease your mind, I haven’t started wearing an aluminum cap … yet.

However, I do hope that the writers in the audience make comments about similar experiences so that I feel less alone in my schizophrenic-like universe.

I also hope that those of you with Kindles who have not yet read Thicker Than Water will take advantage of this week’s promotion on Amazon and order the free Kindle version of the novel. You can find it here through Friday, January 18th.

Web

About Sharon K Owen

I am a fiction writer, a university professor, a copy editor and an online writing teacher. My first Romantic Suspense: Thicker Than Water (Brands Crossing Series) was published in 2011 and the second book in the series, Whatever Goes Around, will be published in 2016. My short stories and poetry have been published in Descant, Concho River Review, Iron Horse, American Literary Review, Trinity Writer's Workshop newsletter and collections of Christmas stories. I am blessed with a loving, supportive family, a multitude of friends and the good fortune to share a cozy sanctuary in North Texas with my two cats (Matt and Cinders).

Posted on January 15, 2013, in Book Recommendations, Uncategorized, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Sharon, Yes Claire has fought for the limelight for as far back as I can remember! She will not let you quit writing:) jan

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

