Interview With Patricia Yager Delagrange

Today it is my pleasure to welcome Patricia Yager Delagrange. She has graciously agreed to an interview about her writing life and her published novel Moon over Alcatraz. She is also doing a give away of her Ebook of Moon Over Alcatraz. Please comment and include your email address so that you can participate in this give away. There will be a drawing on Friday June 22nd and the lucky winners will be contacted and sent their gift certificate for the ebook.

 

Born and raised in the San Francisco Bay Area, Patricia attended St. Mary’s College, studied her junior year at the University of Madrid, received a B.A. in Spanish at UC Santa Barbara then went on to get a Master’s degree in Education at Oregon State University.  She lives with her husband and two teenage children in Alameda, across the bay from San Francisco, along with their two very large chocolate labs, Annabella and her son Jack.

Her horse lives in the Oakland hills in a stall with a million dollar view.

MUSA BUY LINK:

http://musapublishing.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=2&products_id=150

Amazon link:  http://www.amazon.com/Moon-Over-Alcatraz-ebook/dp/B006UJEE3E/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1327940072&sr=1-1

Barnes & Noble link:  http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/moon-over-alcatraz-patricia-yager-delagrange/1108112331?ean=2940032996682&itm=1&usri=moon+over+alcatraz

CONTACTS:

Twitter:  @Patti Yager

Facebook:  Patricia Yager Delagrange Author

website:  www.patriciayagerdelagrange.com

blog:  www.patriciayagerdelagrange.com

Thanks Patricia for agreeing to this interview. Please tell us a little bit about you the person, not the writer.

I was born in Oakland, California, and grew up in Alameda, California – the venue for my book Moon Over Alcatraz, located across the bay from San Francisco.  I went to several different colleges before getting my B.A. in Spanish from the University of California at Santa Barbara.  I studied my junior year in Madrid and got my Master’s degree in Education at Oregon State University.  I am married with two teenage children, two chocolate labs, and a great big Friesian horse named Maximus.

What inspired you to write your novel?

The inspiration for my novel came from the bombardment of news stories and Amber Alerts concerning kidnapped and murdered children.  It has always intrigued me how parents keep alive and sane after their child dies.  So I took that and dealt with it in a different way.  In Moon Over Alcatraz, Brandy and Weston’s child dies at birth.  The book is about what happens to them as a couple after their child’s death.

 Who are your main characters? What are their goals? What are their conflicts?

My main characters are Brandy and Weston who move from San Francisco to the small city of Alameda to start a family.  After their child dies at birth their relationship takes some big hits because they pull apart from each other instead of seeking solace from each other.  How they get back together is fraught with hills and bumps, but ultimately the book has a “happily ever after” – just not the way one might expect.

Where can we buy your book?

Moon Over Alcatraz can be purchased straight from the publisher, Musa Publishing, or from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, and Smashwords.  The buy links are listed below for your reference.

What are you working on now?

Right now I’m editing my fourth book Brenda’s Wish.  It’s about a divorced mother and her teenage son and what happens in their lives after her ex-husband, a San Francisco cop, is murdered.  Forensic evidence points to one or both of them as having committed the crime.

What do you consider the genre for your book?

Moon Over Alcatraz is women’s fiction with romantic elements.  Three of the four books I’ve written are in this genre.

Who are your favorite writers?

My favorite writers are Nicholas Sparks, Richard Paul Evans, Debbie Macomber, Jodi Picoult, Ann Shreve, Nancy Naigle, Peter Pezzelli, and I’m going to stop now.

If you weren’t a writer, what would be your dream job?

My dream job would be an Olympic horse jumper.  My horse isn’t a jumper because he’s too big (almost a draft horse), but I think it would be amazing to learn how to jump a horse.

Are the locations you use as settings in your works ones where you have lived or visited?

All the locations for my books are places I have lived.  Moon Over Alcatraz takes place in Alameda, where I grew up and ultimately settled to live with my own family.  My second book Passing Through Brandiss takes place near Santa Barbara where I went to college.  Taken Away also takes place partly in Santa Barbara then in Earlham, Iowa, where I have never been.  And Brenda’s Wish takes place in San Francisco where I lived and worked for several years.

Do you pay much attention to reviews, reader feedback or critique of your book? How does it effect your writing?

I love to read reviews.  I have five five-star reviews from readers on Amazon.  A couple of those were from people who review books and I am waiting for my review from Romantic Times to come through soon.  How does it affect my writing?  I think it serves to validate that there is someone out there who thinks I can write and likes what I write, so I must be doing something right.

Describe you usual work environment (home, café, library?)

 I only write at home, usually sitting on the couch with my favorite labrador next to me, or outside on the deck sitting under the umbrella.

Do you listen to music when you write?  Name your favorite type of music and performers.

I do not listen to music.  I need silence.  The music I like is all over the map, from Chris Brown to Chris Botti to Adele and Maroon 5 and a little Mozart and Rachmaninoff as well as Justin Bieber, Beyonce’, and The Bee Gees.

In addition to writing, do you have another career?  What is that?

My other career is being a mom.  I stopped working outside the home when I got pregnant with my son, who is now 18 years old.  When I found that I had more time, around 2009, I began to write.

If (when) you become a best selling writer, with what groups and organizations will you share your windfall?

If I ever become a best-selling writer, it will be because of the help of my personal editor, Kathryn Johnson, and the online Yahoo groups – Romance Writers of America Women’s Fiction and RWA Elements as well as the Yahoo group WANAMinions which was formed after I took a Kristen Lamb class.

When you think of your audience/readers, what effect do you hope your book has on them when they’ve finished reading it?

I hope that while (and after) reading my book that my readers would “feel” an emotion, no matter what it may be, for the characters in the story.  That’s what I’m driving at.

Thank you so much for sharing your information with us. Best of luck with all your writing.

I hope you all enjoyed Patricia’s interview. Please make comments below with your email address so that you can participate in the drawing for Patricia’s ebook.

If any of you would like to do an interview, a promotion of your book and/or a guest blog, please contact me at sharonkatherine@sharonkowen.com.

About Sharon K Owen

I am a fiction writer, a university professor, a copy editor and an online writing teacher. My first Romantic Suspense: Thicker Than Water (Brands Crossing Series) was published in 2011 and the second book in the series, Whatever Goes Around, will be published in 2016. My short stories and poetry have been published in Descant, Concho River Review, Iron Horse, American Literary Review, Trinity Writer's Workshop newsletter and collections of Christmas stories. I am blessed with a loving, supportive family, a multitude of friends and the good fortune to share a cozy sanctuary in North Texas with my two cats (Matt and Cinders).

Posted on June 7, 2012, in Writers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

