Interview: Prudence Macleod

Today I am pleased to introduce you to Prudence Macleod, a fellow member of the WANA 1011 tribe.

Prudence has graciously agreed to answer some questions about her novel Gifted.

Prudence, thanks so much for visiting my blog and answering some interview questions. Shall we get started?

Tell us a little bit about yourself.

I am a spiritual seeker, dog trainer, official Reiki Master and Interior designer, and personal trainer who has turned her hand to writing. I am also an avid chess player, not a great one, but an avid one. I build, I bake, I knit, and I tell stories.

I have roamed far and wide for over sixty years in this realm, and I have seen much; some I wish I had not, and a great deal that I would love to see again. Some days I feel like Bilbo Baggins, for I have been there and come back again. No, I haven’t written a book about my wanderings, but much that I have experienced, observed, learned, surmised, or imagined, is woven into the tales I have written. I do hope you enjoy them.

What was the inspiration for your novel(s)?

Actually there are twenty-five of them with another eight or nine in the works. What inspired me? My partner, K suggested I try it since I love telling and hearing stories. She bought me a computer and taught me how to use it. That was years ago and I haven’t stopped since.

Tell us a little bit about your book.

I write in two genres, romance and Y/A fantasy, urban fantasy, supernatural, and sci-fi. Let’s start with Gifted. This is a Y/A supernatural tale. It is a story of an abused teen who is given the power to rise above her past, or to take vengeance on her oppressors.

Could you describe your characters?

The two main characters are Penny Preston, an abused teenager, and Tara Montrose, an ambitious new FBI agent.

Penny, as a side effect of an act of a bully, is suddenly imbued with super powers by an ancient goddess. Penny is accused of taking drugs to gain power and has to go on the run. Tara Montrose hunts her. With this turn of events, who will penny become, devil or angel? What will happen when these two opponents team up to take on a human trafficking ring that sells young girls into slavery?  Read Gifted to get the answers. You can find it here: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/63837

Where can we buy your book?

All my books can be found on Smashwords here: https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/Witchhazel

Or they can be accessed from my blog, here:

http://www.prudencemacleod.com/

What is your current project?

I am really excited about the current project. I have a new editor who read my manuscript and loved it. She then asked for another few thousand pages to make it a better read. We are both excited about the changes and are looking forward to getting some reader feedback on this one.

What do you consider the genre for your book?

This one is a Y/A fantasy. Everybody seems to be doing vampires these days, so I thought I’d have a go at it. I wanted to come at it from a different angle, so I gave them a slightly different origin, but they are blood sucking vamps none the less. This one will be my best work yet by far. Soon I will post the first chapter on my blog just to get a bit of feedback. Watch for it folks. J

Who are your favorite writers?

Oh gods, there are so many. Where to start? As a child I read Edgar Rice Burrows, Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, moved to Ron L. Hubbard, Arthur C Clarke, Anne McCaffrey, Margaret Weiss, etc. The list could go on forever. I’m now finding many new authors on line and there is some fantastic writing available by little known writers. They will be successful one day and it will be fun to say I knew their work back when.

If you weren’t a writer, what would be your dream job?

If I weren’t a writer I’d go back to personal training. I love people, hearing their stories, sharing in their journeys, helping them move toward their goals, supporting them in the hard times and celebrating the victories with them. It is very rewarding work.

Are the locations you use as settings in your works ones where you have lived or visited?

As much as possible, yes. Everywhere you go the Earth will touch you in some way, share her energy with you. I try to bring some of that to the stories.

Do you pay much attention to reviews, reader feedback or critique of your book? How does it effect your writing?

Everybody loves a good review. It tells you that the reader liked your work, shared in the adventure of your story, and came away with something worthwhile to them. Like all writers I’ve had the “this sucks, one star” reviews too. I see those as an attempt by a human in pain to lash out at someone they see as successful. It is a safe way for them to strike out and I let it go.

Reader feedback? Love it, the more the better. I love having long discussions about my characters and stories. Does it have an effect? You bet it does. If a reader can show me a way to tell a better story (and they often do) that will certainly influence my next project. I pay more attention to reader feedback than I do to reviews and critiques.  That’s why I’m so excited about my new editor, she’s also one of my readers.

Where do you write(home, café, library?)

Until recently I worked at the kitchen table on a lap top. Now I have a desk set up in the hallway of our cottage. I also write when I’m on the boats, in coffee shops, etc. I’m always writing something somewhere… Hi, I’m Prudence, and I have a problem…

Do you listen to music when y ou write? Name your favorite type of music and performers.

Yes, I do, but not always. Recently I’ve been listening to a lot of Allison Krause, as well as Andrea Bocelli, Sarah Brightman, and when I need to get the blood pumping, ACDC. Of course, there’s Loreena McKennit who is a staple.

In addition to writing, do you have another career?  What is that?

My last adventure was interior design, but I am now a full time writer.

If (when) you become a best selling writer, with what groups and organizations will you share your windfall?

Wow, I can hardly wait. I have so many projects I would love to get started. Family and friends would be first, of course, then Foster Parents, SPCA, and anything that supports abuse survivors.

I also want to get involved in planned communities with tiny houses, community gardens, and a focus on self-sustainability. There’s more, so much more; how rich am I going to be? Come on, tell me so I can start planning.

When you think of your audience/readers, what effect do you hope your book has on them when they’ve finished reading it?

When a reader finishes one of my books I want them to smile with satisfaction as they return from another world. I want them to come away with the feeling that, no matter how hard it gets, you can make things work out, you can create a happy ending and you can do it over and over if need be.

Prudence, thank you again for participating in this interview.

About Sharon K Owen

I am a fiction writer, a university professor, a copy editor and an online writing teacher. My first Romantic Suspense: Thicker Than Water (Brands Crossing Series) was published in 2011 and the second book in the series, Whatever Goes Around, will be published in 2016. My short stories and poetry have been published in Descant, Concho River Review, Iron Horse, American Literary Review, Trinity Writer's Workshop newsletter and collections of Christmas stories. I am blessed with a loving, supportive family, a multitude of friends and the good fortune to share a cozy sanctuary in North Texas with my two cats (Matt and Cinders).

Posted on January 28, 2012, in Book Recommendations, Writers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. What a wonderful interview, ladies. So much fun learning more about the Prudence we adore!

    I LOVE Allison Krause and used to be a personal trainer, Prudence… A couple of similarities to add to the list. 😉 Best of luck with your career and please, keep sharing.

Leave a Reply

