AUTHOR INTERVIEW – MARISSA DOBSON

Today, it is my pleasure to introduce my friend (and publicist) Marissa Dobson.

Born and raised in the Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania area, Marissa now resides about an hour from Washington, D.C. She is a lady who likes to keep busy, and is always busy doing something. With two different college degrees, she believes you are never done learning.

Being the first daughter to an avid reader, this gave her the advantage of learning to read at a young age. Since learning to read she has always had her nose in a book. It wasn’t until she was a teenager that she started writing down the stories she came up with.

She is blessed with a wonderful supportive husband, Thomas. He is her other half and allows her to stay home and pursue her writing. Her writing buddies Max (a cocker spaniel) and Dawne (a beagle mix) are always around to listen to her bounce ideas off them. They might not be able to answer, but they are helpful in their own ways.

Website / Facebook / Twitter

 Marissa’s new book Snowy Fate may be purchased at the following sites: Ruby Lioness Press / Kindle / Smashwords /

 

Marissa, welcome to my blog. Thank you for answering some questions about your writing career.

Tell me a little bit about you the person, not the writer.

There isn’t much to tell. Born and raised in the Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania area, I now reside about an hour from Washington, D.C. I like to keep busy, and I’m always busy doing something. With two different college degrees, I believe you are never done learning.

 Being the first daughter to an avid reader, this gave me the advantage of learning to read at a young age. Since learning to read I have always had my nose in a book. It wasn’t until I was a teenager that I started writing down the stories I came up with.

I am blessed with a wonderful supportive husband, Thomas. He is my other half and allows me to stay home and pursue my writing. My writing buddies Max (a cocker spaniel) and Dawne (a beagle mix) are always around to listen to me bounce ideas off them. They might not be able to answer, but they are helpful in their own ways.

I am the owner of Sizzling PR (a marketing and public relations company for authors, publishers, etc.), and co-owner of Ruby Lioness Press.

I love to hear from readers, you can email me at marissa@marissadobson.com Or visit me at http://www.marissadobson.com/

 

What’s your book about?

Fate always knows when you’re ready for love.

The past is catching up with Aspyn Layton. The father she never knew passed away and she is left to deal with his estate. An unexpected snowstorm has her stranded at the one place she didn’t want to be—her father’s house—with a naked man.

 

Damon Andrews has a secret, one he shared with Aspyn’s father. He must convince Aspyn there is more to life then what she knows. How will she react when she finds out he is a mountain lion, and she is his mate? Their fates are intertwined.

 

What are your writing goals?  Any new projects?

I’m currently working on book three of the Live series. I hope to write more in this series. The first one, Learning to Live will be out on January 20th.

 

Has your muse always known what genre you would eventually be published in?

This is both yes and no. I always knew I would write romance. I started writing sweet romance, and now I am writing paranormal romance. But it is still romance.

 

Do you read your sub-genre consistently or do you prefer another?

Since I write both sweet romance and paranormal romance I don’t really prefer one or the other. Paranormal romance is more fun to write with shifters, vampires, etc. But I love sweet romances so I read enough of that also.

 

If you weren’t writing, what would your fantasy occupation be?

I always wanted to go to law school. However life had different ideas for me. I found that I love working in publishing, as well as writing.

 

Do you live near, or have you ever visited, the locations you use as settings in your works?

The location of Snowy Fate was inspired by a place I used to live, and still visit.

 

Where do you see brick and mortar book stores in five years?

I honestly believe that ebooks are going to take over. I think it is the future of publishing.

 

Do you put any stock in reviews or is reader feedback more important to you and why?

I own a review company, Sizzling Hot Book’s so yes I believe reviews are good. As the owner of Sizzling PR I know reviews sell books. Word of mouth and print are one of the best ways to sell books. As an author I love reader feedback. It helps me bring future books out that readers want.

 

Where do you write? Home office, local Starbucks?

Home office.

 

Do you have mood music you write to? What are your top five picks?

No I can’t write with music on most of the time.

 

Are you a full-time writer or do you have other obligations? If you have another career, what do you do?

I consider myself a full time writer but I also work from home. As I stated above I am the owner of Sizzling PR and co-owner of Ruby Lioness Press so they both take a lot of time.

 

If you won the lottery but the stipulation was you had to give away half the winnings, what would you do with that half?

I would divide it between animal shelters and needy/hungry children. They are things that are important to me and my husband and I already donate to these causes. I wish we could do more but if everyone did something it would help.

 

Do you believe that we as writers have certain moral obligations to our readers? How do you fulfill them?

I believe writers owe their readers great books with good editing, formatting, etc. Yes I do my best to fulfill them.

On a more personal note, please tell us some of your preferences.

Bubble baths or long, hot steamy showers? Depends on the mood. Bubble baths are good to relax but steamy showers are what I do more often.

 

Beach or mountains? Beach.

 

Chocolate, vanilla, or swirl cones? Chocolate

 

Four wheel drives or sports cars? Four wheel drive

 

Oil or lotion? Lotion

Thank you again for sharing some information about your writing.

Marissa’s Contact Information:

marissa@marissadobson.com

Website / Facebook / Twitter

Marissa’s Purchase Links

Ruby Lioness Press / Kindle / Smashwords / Nook / 1 Place for Romance

About Sharon K Owen

I am a fiction writer, a university professor, a copy editor and an online writing teacher. My first Romantic Suspense: Thicker Than Water (Brands Crossing Series) was published in 2011 and the second book in the series, Whatever Goes Around, will be published in 2016. My short stories and poetry have been published in Descant, Concho River Review, Iron Horse, American Literary Review, Trinity Writer's Workshop newsletter and collections of Christmas stories. I am blessed with a loving, supportive family, a multitude of friends and the good fortune to share a cozy sanctuary in North Texas with my two cats (Matt and Cinders).

Posted on January 13, 2012, in Writers, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Thank you so much for the great interview with Marissa who just so happens to be my PR person as well. I got her name from you, Sharon, and she’s setting up a ton of blog dates for my book. It’s great to find out details of people’s lives that you only know “virtually”. I also am an avid animal lover and have always lived on the coast. Beaches are one of my favorite places.
    Patti

  2. Great post, Sharon. I love reading about authors. You do a wonderful job hosting on your blog – I look forward to seeing more interviews.
    Ann

    • Thanks Ann. I always appreciate your comments but this one is especially appreciated today. Friday the 13th, just figured that out. No wonder!!!

  3. Great interview Sharon! I love Marissa’s book cover…very sexy!

Leave a Reply

