Thanks to The BIG Exciting WANA1011 Blog Fest

Wow!!

Never thought I’d be pulling out the piece of paper to thank everyone as I accept my award.

But …

This morning I clicked on Ginger Calem’s blog titled The BIG Exciting WANA 1011 Blog Fest –and there my was my name: As one of the winners of the Liebster Award.

Thanks Ginger. And thanks to all the WANA 1011 tribe.

A little background on this. As Ginger so eloquently explained:

First, you might not know what ‘wana1011’ stands for so let me clarify. A group of 100 writers took a blogging/branding online workshop with the social media Goddess herself, Kristen Lamb. The class is based on her book We Are Not Alone (wana) and we were the class from October (10) 20(11). There is also a wana711 class and one that just started, wana112. We are ALL in this together! How about a group hug!

Since taking this amazing class, we have all seen such great success in our blogs and have made amazing connections in the exciting world of social media.

To spread the blog love collectively to fellow wana1011 classmates, Ginger and four of her friends (also WANA1011 members), Karen McFarland, Fabio Bueno, Louise Behiel, and Jansen Schmidt, cooked up this blog fest to pass along the following great awards.

One is the Liebster Award (see above), the other is the Versatile Blogger Award.

Please go to Ginger’s, Karen’s, Fabio’s, Louise’s and Jansen’s sites to see other award winners and the  7 facts about those writers that you might not already know.

As with any award, there are attached responsibilities. In this case winners link back to the wonderful person who awarded you the blog.

Thanks again Ginger.

Then you get to share 7 random facts about yourself.  I know you can’t wait to hear all about me.

1. I had to climb a tree and crawl through my dorm room during college when I missed curfew and the doors were locked.

2. I won the Betty Crocker Award in high school. Anyone familiar with my cooking and housekeeping skills will be shocked by that one.

3. I was a majorette (twirling that baton) with my high school marching band. I also played french horn–not so skilled in that area. At a concert competition, the band director told me to fake it–don’t play it.

4. I sang with a girl’s quartet in high school–The Donnells. I also briefly shared a mike (on separate occasions) with Deana Carter and Jessica Simpson. Scout’s honor, it’s true.

5. I hiked up the slippery slope of a MOUNTAIN (others called it a hill but I know it was thousands of feet high) to a waterfall in Kauai.

6. Among my favorite cars is a Karmen Gia (Spiffy), an 89 Volvo (Valerie) and a Volkswagen Jetta (Gretta). All those cars make it into my novels.

7. I played Asheron’s Call and World of Warcraft (multiplayer, online, fantasy computer games). It was all research for my novel Thicker Than Water (Brands Crossing Series). But I was no slouch with a sword, I’m telling you.

Then, the best part is that you have the fantastic opportunity to pay it forward and pass along your award to other WANA 1011 bloggers you would like to recognize. So now, I would like to award the Liebster Blog to:

Diane Capri has published several books including Carly’s Conspiracy (Judge Wilhelmina Carson Cases) which has made several best seller lists. Thanks also for suggesting I join KDP Select.

Debra Eve published Late Bloomers: 35 Folks Over Age 35 Who Found Their Passion and Purpose. Debra was the one of the first in our group to try out KDP Select and showed the rest of use the way. Thanks Debra.

August M McLaughlin  has completed two novels: In her Shadow and Beauty Complex. Thanks August for all your supportive comments on my blog.

Here you go ladies. Display it with pride.

The best part is that you now have the fantastic opportunity to pay it forward and pass along your award to other bloggers you  want to recognize.

Remember all the responsibilities I mentioned above in the blog.

Once again, thanks to all the WANA 1011s who have made such a difference in my writing life and thanks to Kristen for showing us the way.

Don’t forget to visit Ginger CalemKaren McFarland, Fabio Bueno, Louise Behiel, and Jansen Schmidt‘s blogs today to see who they bestowed their awards to.

It’s a BlogFest after all. Let’s all celebrate together!!

About Sharon K Owen

I am a fiction writer, a university professor, a copy editor and an online writing teacher. My first Romantic Suspense: Thicker Than Water (Brands Crossing Series) was published in 2011 and the second book in the series, Whatever Goes Around, will be published in 2016. My short stories and poetry have been published in Descant, Concho River Review, Iron Horse, American Literary Review, Trinity Writer's Workshop newsletter and collections of Christmas stories. I am blessed with a loving, supportive family, a multitude of friends and the good fortune to share a cozy sanctuary in North Texas with my two cats (Matt and Cinders).

Posted on January 6, 2012, in Book Recommendations, Uncategorized, Writers, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. Research – pa – that’s what they all say! 😀 Interesting list, and I didn’t know that’s where those awards came from originally!

  2. That is hilarious! Your band director told you to fake playing your instrument! LOL.

  3. Great post. I enjoyed reading your blog today.

    If you love to write we would love for you to join us!

    Writer Jobs

  4. very fun and congrats!!! Your blog is kicking it big time – very entertaining, enlightening, and reader friendly. Always interesting and amusing.

  5. Thanks for sharing the award love, Sharon! It’s so nice to know that folks appreciated the effort.

    A baton-twirling, singing, non-french horn blowing, somewhat questionable cook who scales thousand-foot mountains when she not playing video games – now there’s a combination!

    Happy blogging in 2012, Sharon!

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    • Thanks Patricia. I hope the ones to whom I presented awards are as grateful as I am for the honor. Thanks to you and Louise and Karen and Fabio for giving out the awards and especially to Ginger who gave one to me.

      Happy awesome new year.

      Sharon

  6. Aw, shucks. “It’s an honor to be nominated,” as every nominee anywhere for any award is supposed to say — but winning is soooooooo much better, right? Thanks for gifting me with this award, Sharon. How amazingly cool!

  7. Congratulations Sharon! You and the other recipients deserved it!

    It was a fabulous experience and a great way to share the blog love so that everyone classmate in WANA1011 felt appreciated. And I think we suceeded!

    Keep up the great work and all the best to you!!! 🙂

  8. Thanks for the shout-outs, Sharon! You totally deserve your awards!
    I didn’t want to say this but… I also remember the Karmann Ghia. I think this dates us a little bit, right? 🙂
    Congrats!

  9. Oh, GREAT post Sharon and thanks for the support and love. I appreciate it. Hey, with our breaking and entering skills, we’re a handy pair to have around. 😉

  10. I love that you won the Betty Crocker Award, Sharon. Even if you claim you can’t cook or houseclean, Betty Crocker is an icon, and I’m in awe of your accomplishment. Yay for your award!

  11. I’m so honored, Sharon. Thanks! I love that you sang in a girls quartet. Some of my favorite memories from high school involved singing. 🙂

    Can’t wait to pass on the blog love award. Thanks for the dose of sunshine!

    • Thanks so much August. I really appreciate all your comments and I love your blog. Are your books published? I would love to read one.

  12. How the heck did I miss this? Thank you, Sharon!

  1. Pingback: Butter Heads and Blog Awards « August McLaughlin's Blog

Leave a Reply

