CHASING MY OWN 15 MINUTES OF FAME

Thanks to Diane Capri and Debra Eve for helping me make the decision to go with KDP select.

Now, my book Thicker Than Water (Brands Crossing Series) has been listed on Amazon, Barnes and Noble and Smashwords since July and has really generated few sales.

Based on my friends’ experiences, I temporarily unpublished my book on Smashwords and signed up for KDP select on Janurary 1st. I also chose to  participate in the 5 day promotion offering my book free during those days.  According to the report today and 13 copies free copies have been “sold” and four paperback books have sold since I signed up. Not bad for the first day. And that is nothing compared to Diane’s and Eve’s experiences. See below:

Diane:

Okay, folks — this is AMAZING, and I owe it all to Debra Eve (for the idea) and to all of you for the support! So here’s the amazing thing: Carly’s Conspiracy has been free on Amazon for 14 hours. It’s already #19 PAID in the Kindle store and #559 in the FREE store. Now, I don’t have a clue how many copies “sold” that actually is, but it’s very cool to see this after it’s been languishing there for 4 months! Woo Hooo! You guys are GREAT!!

Eve:

For three days last week I was on four Amazon Kindle best seller lists. Over 900 people downloaded Later Bloomers: 35 Folks Over Age 35 Who Found Their Passion And Purpose.

See Eve’s full story at http://www.laterbloomer.com/15-minutes-of-amazon-fame 

So, folks, feel free to download a free book of Thicker Than Water (Brands Crossing Series) for the next 4 days. At the end of that time it will sell for $2.99 for the rest of January and February while my blog book tour is in progress.

After reading Eve’s and Diane’s stories, have any of you changed your mind about signing up for the 90 days with KDP select?

About Sharon K Owen

I am a fiction writer, a university professor, a copy editor and an online writing teacher. My first Romantic Suspense: Thicker Than Water (Brands Crossing Series) was published in 2011 and the second book in the series, Whatever Goes Around, will be published in 2016. My short stories and poetry have been published in Descant, Concho River Review, Iron Horse, American Literary Review, Trinity Writer's Workshop newsletter and collections of Christmas stories. I am blessed with a loving, supportive family, a multitude of friends and the good fortune to share a cozy sanctuary in North Texas with my two cats (Matt and Cinders).

Posted on January 2, 2012, in Book Recommendations, Uncategorized, Writers, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Thanks for sharing your story Sharon. You will have to keep us posted!

    • Thanks so much Holly.

      Since I started the promotion on KDP (Jaunary 1, 2012) over 1000 ebooks of Thicker Than Water (Brands Crossing Series) have been downloaded. I am so excited.

  2. Congrats on this fab move, Sharon! Stoked for you and wishing you MUCH success. I’ll race over to download your book asap. 😉

Leave a Reply

