ALL IN THE POINT OF VIEW

I was just  reading the latest of Robert Lee Brewer’s  (My Name’s Not Bob) blog post in which he explored the skills he could list on a site like Linked-In.

After chuckling my way through his witty remarks, I attempted a list of my own skills and posted them in a comment.

It went something like this:

I consider myself a creative and witty writer, a conscientious communicator, an innovative teacher, an energized problem solver, a dedicated mentor, an efficient organizer, a patient and persistent project manager, a steady and consistent finisher of . . . everything I start, a flexible, open-minded adventurer, an individual complete within myself.

Others might, and have, called me verbose, loquatious, pedantic, opinionated, bossy, anal, stubborn, rigid, eccentric, antisocial . . . etc.

Goes to show.

It’s all in the point of view.

I actually use just such an analysis in my latest work in progress: Whatever Goes Around, the second novel in the Brands Crossing Series which will be published in March of 2012.

In a scene where Claire Kincaid (the novel’s protagonist) is thinking about her mom’s request for assistance in resolving some family difficulties, she reaches the following conclusion:

And just like that, Claire got it. She’d been crowned the fix-up queen for all things broken within the family structure.

After the initial irritation at the preemptory command—she did, after all, have her own life to manage—Claire graciously accepted the tiara. Gratified that at last one person in the family recognized her talent for organization and planning, she spent a moment imagining the inevitable chagrin her unappreciative siblings and cousins would soon experience. Her frequent offers of valuable advice were typically spurned with insulting references to OCD, anal retention and control freak tendencies—none of which conditions were hers.

Also, remember my offer made in last Friday’s post Friday Free Ebook Giveaway.

You can receive a free copy of my first novel Thicker Than Water (Brands Crossing Series)

in its EBook format (available in all Ebook formats), if you meet one of these three requirements:

Follow my blog

Follow me on twitter

or

Like my fanpage on FaceBook

Click on the appropriate button on my right sidebar and comment on this blog, requesting the book and providing your e-mail address.

I will send you instructions for receiving the free book.

Hope you’ll enjoy reading it.

About Sharon K Owen

I am a fiction writer, a university professor, a copy editor and an online writing teacher. My first Romantic Suspense: Thicker Than Water (Brands Crossing Series) was published in 2011 and the second book in the series, Whatever Goes Around, will be published in 2016. My short stories and poetry have been published in Descant, Concho River Review, Iron Horse, American Literary Review, Trinity Writer's Workshop newsletter and collections of Christmas stories. I am blessed with a loving, supportive family, a multitude of friends and the good fortune to share a cozy sanctuary in North Texas with my two cats (Matt and Cinders).

Posted on November 22, 2011, in Blogs, Book Recommendations, Writers, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. lynnkelleyauthor

    Hi Sharon, I’m already following your blog and following on Twitter. I “liked” your FB page. I don’t see a button in the right side bar to get a free copy of your book. Maybe I misunderstood. Anyways, I’d like to get a free ebook and read Thicker Than Water. How exciting that the second book will be out in March! My email is lynkelwoohoo at yahoo dot com. Thank you!

  2. Thanks for all the follows Lynn. I will email you instructions for receiving book.

Leave a Reply

