JINX?

According to Wikipedia (and we know how impeccable information there is) a jinx is: (please note the ones in bold)

  • A type of curse placed on a person that makes them prey to many minor misfortunes and other forms of bad luck;
  • A person afflicted with a similar curse, who, while not directly subject to a series of misfortunes, seems to attract them to anyone in his vicinity.
  • An object/ person that brings bad luck.
  • A penalty that one person can invoke on another when the two of them say the same thing at the same time: see Jinx (children’s game).

The superstition can also be referenced when talking about a future event with too much confidence. A statement such as “We’re sure to win the contest!” can be seen as a jinx because it tempts fate, thereby bringing bad luck. The event itself is referred to as “jinxed”. A dramatic historical example of this type of jinxing is the RMS Titanic, which was said to be unsinkable, then sunk on its maiden voyage.[dubiousdiscuss]

In a similar way, calling attention to good fortune – e.g. noting that a certain athlete is having a streak of particularly good fortune – is thought to “jinx” it. If the good fortune ends immediately afterward, the jinx is then blamed for the turn of events, if only jokingly

After last night’s World Series Battle between the Texas Rangers and the St. Louis Cardinals, I fear I may be this type of bad luck charm.

You’ve seen in my posts that I’m not usually a baseball fan and seldom watch a live game. I may DVR it and fast forward to intersting parts later, but to sit and watch a game from start takes more patience and fortitude than I normally possess.

However, the Rangers are a local team and I felt a need to support the cause last night. I even talked to friends who are baseball fans and expressed my pride in the team’s accomplishments and my hopes for their success.

So, determined to watch the whole game, I collected my thread basket and proceded to crochet a rather charming dusty pink hat while watching the action on-screen.

Caught up in the battle, I was cheering for the home team during, what I admit was, an exciting game and was disappointed when the Rangers  lost in the tenth inning.

As I prepared for bed, I thought back to other live competitions I’d watched where my favorites lost. The 2011 Cowboys’ games against the Lions, Patriots and Jets. Innumerable Mavericks’ games. The night Chris Daughtry was voted off American Idol. The night Dia Frampton was runner up (instead of winner) on the 2011 finals of The Voice. The night Kent Boyd was runner-up (instead of winner) on 2010 So You Think You Can Dance.

I’m sure there are more instances, but those are the ones that come to mind.

It is interesting to note that the recent times my favorites won [(Cowboys, Mavericks, Scotty McCreery (American Idol), Hines Ward (Dancing With The Stars) Rory Mcllroy (U.S. Open Golf), Novack Djokovic (U.S. Open Tennis)] I had recorded the events on DVR and watched them after the live performance.

Obviously, there is a pattern here.

I never before realized the negative influence I have over the results of competitions.

In the future, I will always record my favorites’ events and watch them after the live performance.

I’m still willing to review my favorite writers’ books if they are brave enough to ask.

 

 

About Sharon K Owen

I am a fiction writer, a university professor, a copy editor and an online writing teacher. My first Romantic Suspense: Thicker Than Water (Brands Crossing Series) was published in 2011 and the second book in the series, Whatever Goes Around, will be published in 2016. My short stories and poetry have been published in Descant, Concho River Review, Iron Horse, American Literary Review, Trinity Writer's Workshop newsletter and collections of Christmas stories. I am blessed with a loving, supportive family, a multitude of friends and the good fortune to share a cozy sanctuary in North Texas with my two cats (Matt and Cinders).

Posted on October 28, 2011, in Basketball, Football, Reality Talent Shows, Sports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. wow Sharon. Please, please don’t watch the Rangers tonight for Game 7.
    However, I will still let you review my book. Funny post.

  2. lynnkelleyauthor

    Aw, you’re so cute! I still play the Jinx game with friends when we say something at the same time! Haha! Sorry that the Rangers lost. That’s a bummer. I don’t blame it on you jinxing, though!

  3. lynnkelleyauthor

    P.S. Sorry I’m just now getting around to reading posts. My computer crashed and I just got it back today. It’s less than a year old. What’s up with that? Sheesh! Anyway, I sure have a lot to catch up on with Wana1011 and emails and blogs and on and on! You post made me smile, so thanks for the lighter moment!

Leave a Reply

