I AM A WRITER . . . REALLY

If you haven’t heard yet, Juliana L Brandt has started a new challenge Warm Fuzzies Blogfest!

She’s giving us all a chance to respond to various topics and compete for fabulous prizes!!

If you’d like to join in the blogfest, head over to Juliana’s new website and sign up! Today’s question is:

How do you broach the subject of being a writer to other people who aren’t authors?

That’s always been a tough one for me. I mean, I’ve always worked at a “real job” to support my writing habit. Without a place on the NY Times Best Seller List or large advances and royalty reports, I hesitated to publicize my literary pursuits.

In the past, if asked by new acquaintances about my profession,  I ‘d first explain that I was a university professor–which I am and very proud of it–then, segue subtly into a comment about my writing.

That’s when it would get sticky.  “What do you write?” would be the next question. Unable to come up with a confident answer, I would blush, look down, shuffle my feet and answer “stuff.”

After an awkward pause, the conversation would gently segue to another subject. Whew!!

No more!! I’ve made great progress.

Now, to anyone who gives me the slightest opportunity, I announce  that I am a writer.

When the inevitable question is asked about what I write, I answer proudly, “romantic suspense.” Then, I give them the name of my book, where they can purchase it and offer a business card that displays all my social media sites.

Of course, that leads to the next questions. “How many books have  you sold?” “How much money have you made?”

Okay, I said I’ve made progress. I didn’t say I’ve worked out all the kinks . . . yet.

Enhanced by Zemanta
About Sharon K Owen

I am a fiction writer, a university professor, a copy editor and an online writing teacher. My first Romantic Suspense: Thicker Than Water (Brands Crossing Series) was published in 2011 and the second book in the series, Whatever Goes Around, will be published in 2016. My short stories and poetry have been published in Descant, Concho River Review, Iron Horse, American Literary Review, Trinity Writer's Workshop newsletter and collections of Christmas stories. I am blessed with a loving, supportive family, a multitude of friends and the good fortune to share a cozy sanctuary in North Texas with my two cats (Matt and Cinders).

Posted on October 25, 2011, in Blogs, Book Recommendations, Social Networking, Writers, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. This brought a smile to my face, thx!
    I’m right there with you, there are only a few individuals who know that I write & it will probably stay that way until I get more confident or published. And those two things are probably tied together 🙂

    • I agree about the confidence. I find that getting published does give some credibility, but that’s only external. The joy is in the writing.

  2. I don’t believe it matters how many books you have sold or how much money you have made. You are a writer Sharon, having lots of sales doesn’t make you more of a writer. It just makes it easier to spend more time writing.

    • You are absolutely right about the number of books sold and the money. I would love it if people loaned my book to their friends because they enjoyed it and wanted someone else to do the same.

  3. Haha, Sharon, this cracked me up! It’s so cool how proud and up front you are. I need to start thinking that way instead of shying from the subject 🙂

  4. Thanks to all of you for your comments. It helps to hear from those who know what it’s like to be a writer.

  5. Sharon –

    Your perspective about being a writer is refreshing; cautiously optimistic, yet conveyed with a touch of humility and humor. Having recently completed my first non-fiction book – after three years of writing – I’m now in the throes of the editing process. Writing is an attribute that has been dormant within me for most of my life, but it has now emerged full force and commands much of my time and attention…and I love it!

    Let me offer you my penny-ninety-eight’s worth (instead of the usual two-cents) about writing:

    Continue to believe in yourself and your work…be creative…and just let it flow.

    Write on!

  6. You are not only a writer, you are a really good writer. I understand, though, I seem to always have an “um” or a pause before I say or confess “I’m a writer.” Maybe there’s a twelve step program.

    Proud of you and your progress.

  7. There is one more inevitable question: where can I buy your book?

    For the newly electronically self-published indies, you have to start explaining e-readers and Amazon.

    • Now that’s one I love to hear. Thicker Than Water (Brands Crossing Series) is available in paperback and ebook format at amazon.com and barnesandnoble.com (shamless plug).

  8. Well congrats on being a published writer!

    This post is hilarious. I think I’ll start telling people I’m a writer when I’ve got a book on the shelf… or in an Ereader. 🙂

  9. “Stuff!” I love it. I usually stop after saying I write YA, finding myself completely tongue tied to explain further. Usually though people only want to talk about what I apparently should be writing. 🙂

  10. Oh, I love this! As a (hopefully) professor-to-be, I’ve been struggling with merging my two personas together. There are so many people I know who think that anything that doesn’t relate to academia is a waste of time, but I do have friends who are incredibly enthusiastic about what I’m doing. Those are the people who keep me going, and who make me feel really positive about my quest to earn a PhD and write a novel or two along the way. 😀

  11. Hi Sharon!
    I’m visiting you from the Warm Fuzzies Blogfest. You should be proud of your site. I really like it. I can see why you initially introduce yourself as a university professor. Everyone gets it right away. No third-degree before you’re accepted. But no matter. You’re obviously both a professor and a writer now! Good luck on your series. Looks like a winner.

Leave a Reply

